IODP-Lead Agencies and Member countries

  1. National Science Foundation (NSF), USA
  2. Ministry of Culture, Education, Sports, Science & Technology (MEXT), Japan;
  3. European Consortium for Ocean Research Drilling (ECORD), Europe
  4. Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), China
  5. Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources (KIGAM), Korea
  6. Australia-New Zealand IODP Consortium (ANZIC),
  7. Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), India
  8. Ministry of Education (CAPES), Brazil.


NSF, MEXT, and ECORD provide the majority of funds for the operation of the drilling platforms JOIDES Resolution, Chikyu, and Mission-Specific Platforms (MSPs) respectively. Other partners contribute to the operation of one or more of the IODP platforms and share in decision-making or advice on platform operation by participation in the platform Facility Board. All partners fund scientists based in their countries to participate in IODP expeditions and carry out research with collected data and samples.