

Prof U R Rao, former Chairman, ISRO and Department of Space is being Secretary. by the Society of honoured Professionals International (SSPI) by inducting him as a Member of the highly prestigious "Satellite Hall of Fame", Washington. Since 1987, the SSPI Hall of Fame has been recognising the invaluable contribution of the visionaries who have transformed life on planet earth for the better through satellite technology.

Members of the Hall of Fame are recognised pioneers in communications, satellite related aerospace scientific research or development and delivery of applications for business, institutions and government via satellite.

As a honoured member of Hall of Fame, Prof Rao joins over 40 past illustrious space scientists such as Sir Arthur C Clarke, Dr James Van Allen, Dr William Pritchard, Dr Harold Rosen, Dr Fredric d'Allest, Dr Takayashi Yoshida, Dr Peter Jackson and Dr Olof Lundberg.

The induction of Prof Rao into the Satellite Hall of Fame is scheduled to take place on March 19, 2013 at a gala function to be held in Washington, D.C. USA.